NICC Library: Vet Tech Program, Calmar Campus: Websites for Vet Tech Program

Websites for Vet Tech Program

American Veterinary Medical Association
Covers the following: Membership -- News & Publications - Professional Development -
Economics & Practice - Practice Management - Advocacy - Meetings & Events - Policy and More
Animal Science Image Gallery
This site is designed to provide images, animations, and video for classroom and outreach learning. To supplement the visual information, each file has a description and metadata including the origins and ownership for the image.
Beef Cattle Institute at Kansas State University
The Beef Cattle Institute at Kansas State University utilizes collaborative multidisciplinary expertise to promote successful beef production through the discovery and delivery of actionable information and innovative decision support tools. Our organization provides industry-leading tools and resources from the best and brightest in bovine veterinary medicine, cattle health and production.
Evaluating Web Pages
Techniques to Apply & Questions to Ask UC Berkeley - Teaching Library Internet Workshops
Iowa Veterinary Medical Association
"Providing a vision and voice through continuing education, publications, legislative and social activities to enhance the veterinary profession, improve animal well-being and defend public health.” --Mission Statement
Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association
The mission of JAVMA is to advance the practice of veterinary medicine through publishing exemplary curated and peer reviewed clinically relevant articles in accessible formats.
Medline Plus -- Animal Diseases & Your Health
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand.
Merck Veterinary Manual Online
Merck Veterinary Manual (MVM) provides Common Veterinary Topics -- Pet Health & Wellness -- Quizzes -- Videos -- Case Studies -- News and More
National Center for Biotechnology Information [NCBI]
The Taxonomy Database is a curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequence databases. This currently represents about 10% of the described species of life on the planet.
Northeast Iowa Dairy Foundation
Iowa's Dairy Center at NICC features an educational facility with classrooms and labs, a milking parlor, robotic milking system, freestall barn, calf barn.
Today's Veterinary Practice
Today's Veterinary Practice - provides practical, education, peer-reviewed articles focused on the latest diagnostic techniques and treatment modalities, with the goal of enhancing knowledge, encouraging confidence, and inspiring the highest quality of veterinary care.
U.S. Department of Agriculture - National Agricultural Library
Positive health and welfare are important for an animal's mental and physical needs. Find selected resources on humane animal care (e.g., proper nutrition, housing, and environment, as well as, prevention of pain, suffering, disease, and disability).
Veterinary Anatomy Website
College of Veterinary Medicine University of Minnesota -- This Minnesota Veterinary Anatomy Courseware Web Site is an umbrella site that provides access to individual courseware web sites and other teaching resources.
more...less...
Subject matter includes carnivore (dog & cat) anatomy, ungulate anatomy, developmental anatomy (embryology), veterinary neuroanatomy, and medical imaging anatomy (MRI & CT). In addition to web site URLs, links to pertinent PDF files (gross anatomy terms; embryology class notes; neurobiology laboratory guide) are included. The PDF documents can be downloaded and viewed off-line.

Although our courseware was developed initially for veterinary students at the University of Minnesota, others are free to use the materials for educational purposes.
VeterinaryPartner.com
Many authoritative articles on dogs, cats, reptiles, small mammals, and large mammals dealing with behavior, health, diseases, drugs, and other topics.