Dentistry

Participants: Gordon J. Christensen, Presenter.
Note: “The Gordon J. Christensen career development program;” Intended audience dental practitioners & dental assistants.
Note (2): Faculty Request.

Description: Presents an extensive case collection of both common and less common conditions of the jaws and teeth. Focusing on the essentials of radiologic interpretation, this is a go-to companion for clinicians in everyday practice who have radiologically identified a potential abnormality, as well as a comprehensive study guide for students at all levels of dentistry, surgery and radiology. (publ.)

Description: This volume provides a review of current biomaterials in use by the dental profession for the purpose of delivering optimal oral health care. (publ.)
Note: Library standing order.

Description: This volume has the intent to provide an overall understand-ing of the impact that other health care providers have in the management of caries as well as the most current evidence associated with its cause and management. It begins with the scientific principles of caries cause from the biofilm ecology perspective to dietary approaches on nutritional coun-seling. Subsequent contributors offer updates on nonsurgical and surgical management of cavitated and noncavitated caries lesions and a framework to guide clinical decisions on how to implement strategies in a personalized manner. (publ.)
Note: Library standing order.

Description: As early as 5000 BC, the Sumerians described a “tooth worm” as the cause of dental caries, and this belief lasted for over 6000 years until the mid-1700s. During the 1800s, it was clearly established that dental caries and periodontal disease, the two major dental diseases, were both due to microorganisms. Today, modern research has correlated the oral microbiota from poor oral health with the ability of this oral microbiota to invade the body and affect other organ systems, most significantly, cardiac health. It is evident, therefore, that oral microbiology is the foundation for modern dentistry, and in fact, dentistry, more than any other health care profession, exists primarily because of the effects of microbes. ... This volume was proposed and developed to emphasize the clinical microbiology aspects in dentistry. General dentists need to have a good understanding of microbial involvement in dental and/or oral infections and their susceptibility and/or resistance to antimicrobial agents. (publ.)
Note: Library standing order.

Description: The authors underscore the important role of dentistry in mitigating substance use risk, and also highlight the role of the dental hygienist as an active member of the team. They discuss strategies for achieving best practices in substance use disorder assessment and management, while recognizing current barriers specific to the field of dentistry. (publ.)
Note: Library Standing Order.

Reviewed: Choice (Aug. 2019 vol. 56 no. 12) Recommended for community college libraries.
Description: If you are interested in a career in the dental assistants and hygienists (the allied health field, as it is often called), you’ve come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Do these career paths have a bright future? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. The author includes interviews with professionals in the field, and covers three main areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions: (1) Dental Assistants; (2) Dental Hygienists; & (3) Dental Technicians. (publ.)

Description: Provides an overview of dental public health from the perspective that it is at the intersection of dental public health and clinical practice where significant advances will occur in improving the oral health of the US population. This is an exciting and volatile time for health care delivery in the United States, and there is intense debate about how to allocate scarce resources, whether health care is a right or a privilege, the role of the government in ensuring access to health care, and proposals for significant cuts to health care research that will have widespread implications by limiting research and slowing medical advancements. Unfortunately, dentistry has not been at the forefront of these discussions, and it is challenging to predict the impact on the profession. (publ.)
Note: Library standing order.

Description: Includes chapters on Digital Imaging, Image Processing and Analysis; Cone Beam Computed Tomography; 3D Volume Rendering, 3D Printing/ Additive Manufacturing; Computer-assisted (navigational) Surgery; Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT); Fluorescence and Near-Infrared Light Transillumination; Computed Tomography; Dental Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI); Ultrasound; Nuclear Medicine; and more!
Note: Library Standing Order.

Description: Keeping up with emerging technologies is vital for the survival and growth of any profession. Technology is ever advancing in today’s world, and if you don’t keep up with it, you run a risk of falling behind and even becoming irrelevant. As with every other profession, dentistry has embraced the latest technological advances in all of its specialties. With better understanding and integration of physics and computer science, imaging in the dentomaxillofacial region is not limited to the use of radiographs anymore. Fluorescence, thermal imaging, and near-infrared imaging are being explored for caries detection. MRI, ultrasound, and optical coherence tomography have been around for a while, but recent research shows promise for their use in dentistry. Advanced digital technology has facilitated the integration of computed tomography scan data in techniques such as 3D printing and computer-assisted navigational surgery. The purpose of this publication is to update dental professionals, especially oral and maxillofacial radiologists, on the emerging imaging technologies, which they are already using or potentially going to encounter in the near future. (publ.)
Note: Library standing order.

Description: This volume presents the state of our current knowledge at its pinnacle in contemporary endodontics, including microbiology and pathogenesis of pulpal and periarticular diseases, innovations in root canal instrumentation, and the prognostic studies. As demonstrated in various articles of this issue, our level of understanding of the disease and ability to manage a diverse spectrum of Endodontic cases with predictable outcomes is remarkable. Despite these successes, endodontics today is faced with at least two discernible challenges. First, the prevalence of endodontic pathoses, for example, apical periodontitis, in the general population is still very high, and it can be even higher in certain groups of individuals, such as the elderly population or those with previous root canal obturation with propensity for leakage. ... The second challenge is restoration of functional pulp in lieu of root canal filling materials. Besides sensibility through Aδ and C fibers, dental pulp provides critical defense mechanisms against microbial insults. (publ.)
Note: Library standing order.

Description: This clinically oriented book covers all aspects of the evidence-based decision making process in multidisciplinary management of the natural dentition. The book opens by clarifying the principles of evidence-based decision making and explaining how these principles should be applied in daily practice. Individual chapters then focus specifically, and in detail, on en-dodontic, periodontal, and prosthetic considerations, identifying aspects that need to be integrated into decision making and treatment planning. Evidence-based decision making with regard to preservation of the natural tooth versus extraction and implant placement is then discussed, and a concluding chapter examines likely future trends in dentistry and how they may affect clinical decision making. (publ.)

Description: The overall goal of this volume is to provide examples of effective use of evidence and to provide strategies for dentists who wish to increase their use of evidence in routine practice. (introd.)
Note: Library standing order.

Description: Evidence-based pediatric dentistry involves a delicate balance between three factors: appropriate application of the best available science, craft knowledge accumulated through clinical experiences and patient values. The goal is to deliver care that optimize outcomes. Evidence-based dental practice is a value-free proposition: clinicians have the autonomy to make independent treatment and intervention decisions. This autonomy is bounded by an ethical obligation of nonmaleficence (do no harm) by keeping up-to-date on the relevant scientific literature that continues to expand, change, and evolve and is relevant in delivering the highest quality care. The Internet has democratized science, making it easier for clinicians to communicate scientific literature, but barriers to science persist. There is a proliferation of basic, clinical, and translational studies in pediatric dentistry. Researchers from around the world are testing novel ideas and generating new knowledge, increasing the potential to transform disease prevention strategies, care delivery, and child health outcomes. ... The goal of this volume is to present trainees, clinicians, researchers, and policymakers with the most up-to-date science on important topics pertaining to pediatric dentistry.
Note: Library standing order.

Description: The goal of this volume is to prepare health care professional students to work in interprofessional collaborative practice (IPCP or IPC), also known as interprofessional practice (IPP) or collaborative care. An overarching view of IPE and IPCP may be seen as Interprofessional Education and Collaborative Practice (IPECP), which is directed at patient-centered care and the PCP (which might be used to represent either Primary Care Provider or Primary Care Physician).
Note: Library standing order.

Description: The authors focus on a journey to excellence in esthetic restorative dentistry and aim to provide a roadmap for clinicians who wish to develop clinical skills and elevate the scope and status of their dental practices. They emphasize not only that at the core of this area of dental care is one’s ability to technically perform treatment but also it is equally as important to attract patients, build relationships, and communicate the value of treatment. Finally, the series of articles is designed to include checklists and practical reference guides that can be used while working clinically or when developing the business and team of one’s practice. (publ.)
Note: Library standing order.

Description: A sound knowledge of head and neck anatomy is essential for the safe and effective practice of clinical dentistry, and much clinically relevant and important anatomy can be learned by examining the living subject in conjunction with radiological images, especially those using CT reconstruction. This book bridges the gap between "textbook" topographical anatomy and the anatomy of the living subject, as experienced in clinical practice.

Description: This volume is designed to update oral health care providers with clinically relevant information regarding this potentially devastating condition. Generally, there is decreased public awareness of oral cancer compared with other types of cancers, which are often less prevalent. Early detection of oral cancer is of critical importance as risk of metastatic disease increases and survival rates decrease with delayed diagnosis. Symptoms are often absent in the early stages of disease, which contributes to the difficulty of diagnosing this condition. (publ.)
Note: Library standing order.

Description: Geared to the dental and medical community as a refresher and an update on oral diseases. It is believe that early detection, recogni-tion, and referral to an oral disease specialist, oral surgeon, oral medicine, or oral pathologist, will greatly reduce the negative effects of chronic dis-ease and the cost of clinical care. A major challenge in the diagnosis of oral disease is the need for memorizing long lists of oral lesions from oral pa-thology literature. This is made more difficult because many of these le-sions are not frequently encountered by the dentist or medical practitioner. This current issue highlights common and/or important oral conditions di-vided into various categories that a dentist may encounter in their prac-tice. Pulpal, periapical, and periodontal diseases are intentionally not dis-cussed in this issue since dentists are experienced in diagnosing and man-aging those conditions. (publ.)
Note: Library standing order

Description: The assessment, diagnosis, and management of orofacial pain (OFP) disorders is often a complex, multifactorial, and multidisciplinary process. The articles in this issue provide the reader with the most cur-rent information regarding these conditions and appropriate, evidence-based care for patients who are suffering with these afflictions. (introd.)
Note: Received on standing order.

Note: Faculty Request.

Description: This volume represents the highest levels of expertise that spans the new and old disciplines of prosthodontics: fixed, removable, and implant prosthodontics, the periodontal-prosthodontics connection, ceramic and adhesive technologies, sleep apnea, various aspects of the digital workflow, and the Pro-CAT evidence-based dentistry. (pref.)
Note: Library standing order.

Description: Be prepared to meet the ARRT competency requirements. These procedure checklists make it easy. To qualify for your certification exam, you must demonstrate your competency in all 36 mandatory procedures and in at least 15 of the 30 elective procedures–and your instructors must verify your proficiencies. (publ.)

Reviewed: LRB 29 June 2017 p. 29; TLS 21 July 2017 p. 33; Choice Nov. 2017 vol. 55 no. 3 (Highly Recommended; Recommended for community college libraries).
Description: This achingly jawdropping book follows the evolution of dentistry throughout the world from the Bronze Age to the present day, presenting captivating and grim illustrations of the tools and techniques of dentistry through the ages. Organized chronologically, The Smile Stealers interleaves beautiful and gruesome technical illustrations and paintings from the Wellcome Collection’s unique archive of material from Europe, America and the Far East with seven authoritative and eloquent themed articles from medical historian Richard Barnett. (publ.)
Contents: Introduction: you know the drill -- The natural and ancient history of the teeth -- Pulling teeth in Medieval Europe -- Fauchard and the dentistes -- Enlightened extractions -- A new era in tooth-pulling -- The skull beneath the skin -- The smile of success.

Description: Explores the clinical application of providing for the needs of dental patients with special medical and social circumstances. Topics include the delivery of dental health care to patients with mental illness, Down Syndrome, preterm children, and issues surrounding special equipment and communication.
Description: Library standing order.

Description: Seeks to inform readers on a variety of different clinical areas that they would find useful and clinically relevant. The issue includes articles ranging from the use of platelet-rich fibrin to updates on soft and hard tissue grafting and reconstruction, with additional articles on the current state of short implants and 3-dimensional cone-beam reconstruction. Articles that focus on topics in oral medicine, such as surgical management of the patient on blood thinners, and a review of neuropathic pain are included as well. (publ.)
Note: Library standing order.

Reviewed: NYT/BR 26 Mar 2017 p. 21.

Description: This volume is an avenue to present evidence-based solutions to unanswered questions in implant dentistry. In the following articles, the authors develop a rational approach to understanding controversial topics in implant dentistry based on literature and the authors’ clinical experi-ence. It is the editor’s hope to generate a systematic and comprehensive clinical approach for best clinical practices. (publ.)
Note: Library standing order.