Racism

Monitoring and assessing civilian harm from airpower-dominated international military actions. Seeking transparency and accountability from belligerents, and advocating on behalf of affected non-combatants. Archiving open-source casualty reports, and military claims by nations.

Amnesty International does detailed research and campaigning, to help fight abuses of human rights worldwide. They seek to bring torturers to justice, change oppressive laws, and free people who have been jailed for voicing their opinions. It has been active as an organization since 1961. A good place to start learning about this organization is via its "Countries & Regions" page of research reports.

A nonpartisan law and policy institute that works to reform, revitalize–and when necessary, defend–the country's systems of democracy and justice. It focuses on voting rights, campaign finance reform, ending mass incarceration, and preserving our liberties while also maintaining our national security. Research available on their website includes publications, analyses, policy proposals, among other resources. Visitors may wish to browse issues for related documents, or search the website on their one.

CCFC educates the public about commercialism's impact on kids' well-being and advocates for the end of child-targeted marketing. The website Resources Tab includes an extensive list of factsheets, research reports, audio-visual material, and other educational and advocacy tools.

A wealth of research and expertise on peace and human rights issues is made freely available on this website. Visitors may wish to explore the PUBLICATIONS drop-down menu for full text downloads of research books, or the TOPICS menu to explore ongoing updates to vital issues which are updated constantly (blogs, opinions, media, events, etc.). You may explore topics by geographic region, or by thematic issue.

The Center for Digital Democracy reviews and makes public the activities of commercial data companies and digital marketers and media companies, and promptly act in those areas—such as contemporary data-collection practices on mobile devices, in stores, and online— that require public education and advocacy. Similarly, we move expeditiously in exposing unfair practices that target low-income consumers, young people, or that involve the use without permission of a person’s race, ethnicity, or political views. In all of these areas, we believe, CDD provides an invaluable and distinct service to the public. Their current program areas are Digital Health, the Digital Consumer, Digital Citizen, & Digital Youth.

The CBTU seeks to build a national movement that would bring all our strengths and varied talents to bear in the unending effort to achieve economic, political and social justice for every American.

Common Ground Relief’s mission is "to create resilient Gulf Coast communities that are environmentally sustainable, financially viable and personally cohesive." The organization's website provides an opportunity both to learn about it's efforts to protect and restore this vast area of natural habitat, as well as about wetlands in general.

An independent nonprofit organization dedicated to helping kids thrive in a world of media and technology. Their goal is to empower parents, teachers, and policymakers by providing unbiased information, trusted advice, and innovative tools to help them harness the power of media and technology as a positive force in all kids’ lives. The site includes content for Parents, Educators, and Advocates.

This independent organization includes over 100 staff members from diplomacy, media, the academy, and civil society. It seeks to engage all parties in conflict situations to facilitate and effect resolution. Website visitors may navigate via geographic region, global issues, or utilize the "Crisis Watch" interactive map to focus in on specific current deadly conflict situations.

EIA investigates and campaigns against environmental crime and abuse. Their undercover investigations expose transnational wildlife crime, with a focus on elephants, pangolins and tigers and forest crimes such as illegal logging and deforestation for cash crops such as palm oil. They work to safeguard global marine ecosystems by addressing the threats posed by plastic pollution, bycatch and commercial exploitation of whales, dolphins and porpoises. Finally, EIA reduces the impact of climate change by campaigning to eliminate powerful refrigerant greenhouse gases, exposing related illicit trade and improving energy efficiency in the cooling sector. They use our findings in original reports to campaign for improved governance and more effective enforcement.

Founded in 1989, EJI is a nonprofit organization that provides legal representation to people who have been illegally convicted, unfairly sentenced, or abused in state jails and prisons. It challenges the death penalty and excessive punishment and provides re-entry assistance to formerly incarcerated people. EJI works with communities that have been marginalized by poverty and discouraged by unequal treatment. It is committed to changing the narrative about race in America. It publishes reports, discussion guides, and other educational materials, which are freely available on the website. Their website includes information about (1) Criminal Justice Reform, & (2) Racial Justice.

Everytown is a movement of Americans working together to end gun violence and build safer communities. Members include parents, students, politicians, and survivors of gun violence. The movement also seeks to embrace gun owners as well, to advocate for smarter laws relating to gun ownership. The organization's "Learn" tab includes data and essays about the core issue areas of (1) Better Background Checks, (2) Disarming Domestic Abusers, (3) Combating Daily Gun Violence, (4) Protecting Kids and Communities, & (5) Holding the Gun Industry Accountable.

A national media watch group, FAIR has been offering documented criticism of media bias and censorship since 1986. It produces a weekly radio program, "CounterSpin." Site visitors may listen to archived shows along with transcripts of audio. There is also an arcive of studies conducted by FAIR, and a page organizing content by topic.

The FSI focuses on the indicators of risk and is based on thousands of articles and reports that are processed by our Conflict Assessment System Tool (CAST) Software from electronically available sources. A project of the Fund for Peace.

Founded in 1992 by the joint efforts of the Florida Coalition for Peace & Justice (FCPJ); Citizens for Peace in Space (Colorado Springs); and New York-based Journalism professor Karl Grossman. It was the intention of the founders to create an organization that would serve as a clearinghouse for space issues and act as a spark to ignite education and organizing in order to build an international citizens movement. Site visitors may find it helpful to explore the Reports, News Items, and Space Videos links to get an idea of the activities of this organization.

Global Witness believes that many of the world’s worst environmental and human rights abuses are driven by the exploitation of natural resources and corruption in the global political and economic system. They campaign to end this. They carry out hard-hitting investigations, expose the facts, and push for change. They are independent, not-for-profit, and work with partners around the world. A good place to begin exploring their website content is on their Campaign Page, which lists current topical and geographical efforts.

Gun Violence Archive (GVA) is a not for profit corporation formed in 2013 to provide free online public access to accurate information about gun-related violence in the United States. GVA collects and checks for accuracy, comprehensive information about gun-related violence in the U.S. and then post and disseminate it online. Among the real-time updated reports on the site are (1) Children & Teens Killed; (2) Children & Teens Injured; (3) Accidental Deaths; (4) Accidental Injury; (5) Officer-Involved Shootings; & (6) Mass Shootings. The Congressional Reports tab will let you review state-by-state data. See for example Gun Violence in Iowa data.

A virtual network to support and to be used by those who are committed to improve universal human rights standards and particularly non-discrimination principles. It is the information disseminator for the European NGO-community working in the fields of anti-discrimination, Human Rights, antisemitism, diversity and migration, with a focus on anti-racism.

The Innocence Project was founded in 1992 by Peter Neufeld and Barry Scheck at Cardozo School of Law. It seeks to exonerate the wrongly convicted through DNA testing and reforms the criminal justice system to prevent future injustice. Part of their mission is to educate researchers, lawyers, and others interested in learning about wrongful conviction. These resources include statistics about exoneration cases, systematic literature reviews of specific research questions, analyses of special topics, and ideas for future research.

THE Institute of Race Relations (IRR) was established as an independent educational charity in 1958 to carry out research, publish and collect resources on race relations throughout the world. Many of their publications, research papers, educational resources, and news summaries, are freely available on their website.

Iriba Shalom International has made it its mission to help people in Rwanda who suffer from the aftermaths of the genocide. The website includes links to several ongoing projects, and an informational/resource page including newsletters, reports, social media and pictures of the organization's work.

Founded in 1950 by A. Philip Randolph, Roy Wilkins, & Arnold Aronson, The Leadership Conference is the nation’s oldest, largest, and most diverse civil and human rights coalition, committed to the protection and advancement of civil and human rights for every person in the United States. First time visitors might wish to begin by viewing the "our work" links which provide information on democracy, justice, and inclusion efforts of the Conference. The "Library" links offer visitors the opportunity to read advocacy letters, commentary, fact sheets, reports, and testimony.

Through training and education, legal cases, publications and the media and cultural programs this organization supports minority and indigenous people as they strive to maintain their rights–to the land they live on, the languages they speak, to equal opportunities in education and employment, and to full participation in public life. A good place to start on this site is their "Peoples under Threat" ranking and map, which highlights countries most at risk of genocide and mass killing. The ranking is created by compiling data on the known antecedents to genocide or mass political killing. You may also view news, films, and search using a country directory of minority & indigenous peoples.

National Action Network is a leading civil rights organizations with chapters throughout the entire United States. Founded in 1991 by Reverend Al Sharpton, NAN works within the spirit and tradition of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. to promote a modern civil rights agenda that includes the fight for one standard of justice, decency and equal opportunities for all people regardless of race, religion, ethnicity, citizenship, criminal record, economic status, gender, gender expression, or sexuality.

NOYB ("None of Your Business") is a data privacy advocacy group started in 2018 based in Vienna, Austria. Their is to ensure that the tech industry is following fully the existing privacy and data protection laws in the European Union, through strategic litigation in the public interest.

The Open Payments Search Tool is used to search payments made by drug and medical device companies to physicians and teaching hospitals. In addition to payments made to specific individuals and entities, there is also a "Summary Data" page that shows annual aggregate data on total payments by type and and entity (recipient).

Facebook page for this human rights organization. Pakistan protest movement with goal of protecting the rights of ethnic Pashtuns in this country. The movement originated as a response to the killing of a 27-year old shopkeeper named Naqeebullah Mehsud, claimed to be an extra-judicial killing by police in Punjab, the most populous and prosperous of the country's four provinces. Viewers must have FaceBook account to view full website. See also article by Salman Masood in The New York Times (21 January 2019 p. A4) on related incident.

The Platform seeks to defend whistleblowers, as well as strategically litigate and advocate on their behalf where their disclosures speak to the public interest of African citizens. The site includes background on specific cases, country surveys, and related news.

The Poverty & Race Research Action Council (PRRAC) is a civil rights law and policy organization based in Washington, D.C. Its mission is to promote research-based advocacy strategies to address structural inequality and disrupt the systems that disadvantage low-income people of color. It also supports public education efforts, including the bimonthly newsletter/journal Poverty & Race. Resources include an extensive amount of policy briefs, resource guides, and online digital publications that may be freely viewed and downloaded.

The Princeton Gerrymandering Project supports state- and federal-level reform efforts to eliminate partisan gerrymandering. It identify opportunities and loopholes in existing law that shape how district maps are drawn. The project can help analyze and craft reform language to help activists translate their ideals into practical solutions. By providing open-source, high-quality data down to the precinct level, users are provided essential information that allows activists and experts to draw their own plans. They are currently building a 50-state data hub of complete precinct-level data and shapefiles for detailed redistricting work.

Public Justice pursues high impact lawsuits to combat social and economic injustice, protect the Earth’s sustainability, and challenge predatory corporate conduct and government abuses. Content particularly relating to human rights and social justice may be found in the "Civil Rights & Liberties Practice Area" pages.

Launched in 1994 in Ouidah, Benin, on a proposal from Haiti, “the Slave Route project: Resistance, Liberty, Heritage” ... encourages new research in neglected regions, defines new approaches for the teaching of this history, elaborates new guides for the identification, preservation and promotion of sites and itineraries of memory related to the slave trade and slavery, promotes the contributions of people of African descent to the construction of contemporary societies and finally preserves written archives and intangible heritage related to this history.

A national grassroots initiative dedicated to building the capacity of women of color advocates and activists responding to violence against women in communities of color. Their purpose is to work in and beyond the fields of domestic violence and sexual assault to address a broad range of violence affecting communities of color such as human trafficking, police brutality and over-incarceration. Resources at this site include a collection of publications, fact sheets, and position papers on these topics.

An independent research project located at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies in Geneva, Switzerland. It serves as the principal international source of public information on all aspects of small arms and armed violence and as a resource for governments, policy-makers, researchers, and activists.

The Extremist Files database contains profiles of various prominent extremists and extremist organizations. It also examines the histories and core beliefs–or ideologies–of the most common types of extremist movements. You may wish to explore, for example, which hate groups are active in Iowa?

A national organization focused on ending racism and police violence in the United States. Since 2015, they have built the most comprehensive database of police violence in the nation, used the data to identify effective policy solutions and supported movement organizers to enact these policies at every level of government.