NICC Library: More Resources: Home

eBooks, eJournals, and More

Bartleby.com Reference & General eBooks
An online ebook collection. Mostly literary resources.

Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Database with thousands of books in a digital format (Ebooks) on many subjects. Find relevant ebooks and chapters; read online; search within the ebook; and highlight, take notes and bookmark pages in your online copy, stored on your bookshelf for you. You can also share your research with others, download ebooks and chapters to your laptop or mobile device, and more. Have questions about ebooks? View these "how-to" videos.
eBook Collections (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
NICC makes available hundreds of 1000's of eBooks on many different topics. You may browse by category or select from among several search options. Academic & General ebooks may be search together using the link on this A-Z list, or separately using the links given above.

Leuven University Press
This university press currently (2019) makes approximately 150 of its titles available for free public viewing and download. Includes a variety of topics.

National Academies Press This link opens in a new window
The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy. The Press offers more than 8,500 titles in PDF format. Almost all of these PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book. You may search by keyword, or browse ebooks by subject.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of handbooks areas across many different subject areas. The Handbook series contains in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field, and brings together the leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking on a range of major topics. Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve.
New URL: https://academic-oup-com.nicc.idm.oclc.org/pages/oxford-handbooks
Old URL: http://www.oxfordhandbooks.com
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Includes several hundred reference books in a variety of subject areas. Not all reference books are available to NICC users. Use the "by availability" to see those books available to NICC. Or click here to browse available collection.

Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers tens of thousands of free eBooks. Choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for enjoyment and education.

Salem Press & Grey House This link opens in a new window
Collection of Salem Press eBook titles in the subject areas of history, science, health and careers.
UC Press E-Book Collection 1982-2004 This link opens in a new window
Almost 2,000 electronic editions of academic books have been published online at the UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004, web site. All E-Books in the collection are available for free to UC faculty, staff, and students. Currently approximately 1/2 of this collection is also available to the general public. When viewing a category, be certain to select "public access books" to view only those titles available to all users.
Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
This book series offers concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas.

eJournals by Subject
Determine if there is a specific journal or category of journals about your topic you may wish to browse. These are entire journals, not specific articles.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. Users may also browse by journal subject and view either journal titles or individual articles.

Chronicle of Higher Education (Peosta)
Full-text articles and most recent job postings (requires login and password)
Peosta Campus Library Holdings: Current year
Online Access

Google Scholar is a search engine that searches academic and scholarly literature. It is NOT searching the public web.

ArXiv.org This link opens in a new window
Started in August 1991, arXiv.org is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. Covered areas include physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics. arXiv is maintained and operated by the Cornell University Library. Users can retrieve papers from arXiv via the web interface. Use the default "browse" display, or also search using various limits and criteria.

The Center for Investigative Reporting
The Center was founded in 1977 as the nation’s first nonprofit investigative journalism organization. Reveal–its website, public radio program, podcast and social media platform–is where they publish their multiplatform work. Content currently is included in three broad categories of Accountability, Inequality, and Sustainability, or searchable by keyword.
The Groundtruth Project
The Groundtruth Project is an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit news organization, whose mission is to restore journalism from the ground up by supporting the next generation of journalists through field reporting that serves under-covered corners of the United States and the world. Site visitors may read the fulltext content of reports, view photographs, film documentaries and short feature films, or subscribe to podcasts.
Inside Climate News
Founded in 2007, InsideClimate News (ICN) is an independent, not-for-profit, non-partisan news organization that covers clean energy, carbon energy, nuclear energy and environmental science–plus the territory in between where law, policy and public opinion are shaped. It is staffed by professional journalists, many of whom bring decades of experience from leading media organizations in the nation, including the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, ProPublica, Los Angeles Times, Bloomberg News and Frontline. First-time visitors may wish to explore ICN's website by topic, watch videos, or follow any of several ongoing investigations.
The Marshall Project
The Marshall Project is a nonpartisan, nonprofit news organization that seeks to create and sustain a sense of national urgency about the U.S. criminal justice system. Visitors may search for tagged content, or browse by browse topically on their subject pages, "The Record" (popular criminal justice topics). The Marshall Project is named in honor of Supreme Court Justice Thurgood Marshall (1908-1993), who was the first African American justice to serve on the court from 1967-1991, and a towering figure in the civil rights movement.
ProPublica
ProPublica is an independent, nonprofit newsroom that produces investigative journalism. With a team of more than 100 dedicated journalists, ProPublica covers a range of topics including government and politics, business, criminal justice, the environment, education, health care, immigration, and technology. Investigative journalism requires a great deal of time and resources, and many newsrooms can no longer afford to take on this kind of deep-dive reporting. As a nonprofit, ProPublica’s work is powered primarily through donations.

New/Trial Databases

Chemistry Interactive

New

Topics include the periodic table, molecules and compounds, reactions, and chemical processes. Users can zoom, rotate, and explore interactive 3-D models. Filter by category, search by keyword, or Browse Activities.

Human Anatomy Interactive

New

Allows you to examine virtual 3D dissections with tools to zoom, rotate, and explore models, and assess understanding of concepts with self-assessments within each module. Search by keyword, explore by system or region, or browse all available system and region categories.

Merck Manual (Professional Version)

New

Free online database replacing the standard medical reference source. First published in 1899, the Manual includes information about medical diagnoses, drug pharmacology, and related health content. The website also provides quizzes & case studies, videos, and a number of clinical calculators.

National Academies Press

New

The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy. The Press offers more than 8,500 titles in PDF format. Almost all of these PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book. You may search by keyword, or browse ebooks by subject.

Oxford Handbooks Online

New

A collection of handbooks areas across many different subject areas. The Handbook series contains in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field, and brings together the leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking on a range of major topics. Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve.

SciELO: The Scientific Electronic Library Online

New

The library is an integral part of a project being developed by the Latin American and Caribbean Center on Health Sciences Information. The objective of the site is to implement an electronic virtual library, providing full access to a collection of serial titles. Access to its serials collection is via an alphabetic list of titles or a subject list or a search form by word of serial titles, publisher names, city of publication and subject. The project was developed, supported and is sustained by a number of Brazilian organizations, including the São Paulo Research Foundation.

Science

New

NICC subscribes to content from 1997-Present.
Science is a leading general science academic journal in the field, publishing original peer-reviewed research articles all fields of scientific inquiry. The database provides digital access to all Science Magazine content from 1997 to the current issue, including prepublication content. You may also browse issues by year. More date ranges may appear than NICC has online access to. Use Advanced Search if you wish to limit your search to only those full-text years subscribed. Note you must also select the specific source publication as well in advanced search.

Science Interactive

New

This database provides you with a comprehensive view of Biology, Chemistry, Earth Science, and Human Anatomy. It uses interactive 3-D models that can be zoomed in, rotated, or pulled apart. Browse by subject, refine by category, or search by keyword. There are also self-assessments in each subject-specific module.

Swank Digital Campus

New

Swank Digital Campus provides movie and TV content for the NICC community. The platform displays subscribed titles chosen for one-year license by faculty, staff, and librarians, to support classroom and instruction use. Access to all content is available on and off campus.

Very Short Introductions

New

This book series offers concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas.

Helpful Links

The Iowa Locator
Browse for and request material from libraries across Iowa!
Copyright & Fair Use
Have questions about copyright, fair use, or sharing copywritten material? We have answers!

NICC Links and Information

Learning and Writing Centers
NICC has 3 Learning and Writing Center locations: Calmar Campus, Peosta Campus, and the Dubuque Center.
Map: Calmar Campus
Map: Peosta Campus
MyCampus
Gain access to Brighspace, your NICC email, and more!
Purchase Textbooks
Service Locations
Testing Centers
Information on course placement and CLEP tests, High School Equivalency Diploma (HSED), Proctoring Services, and more!

Having computer trouble? Contact the Helpdesk!

Phone: (844) 642 - 2338, Ext. 555

Email: helpdesk@nicc.edu