Each of the 3 databases below offer a great assortment of research topics arranged either in broad subject categories or simply alphabetically. Sometimes it's easier to pick a topic from a list or "drill down" from general categories to more specific issues. Use these resources both to explore broad subject areas ("health care" "technology" etc.) that might interest you, as well as begin to identify specific sources for your assignment.
Provides full text access to differing points of view on current social issues in primary source documents, articles, statistics, websites and multimedia.
General reference database that contains thousands of full-text articles. Includes special modules: Issues Researcher (Leading Issues), Government Reporter (Information By & About the U.S. Government), Renaissance (Arts & Humanities), & WebSelect (Selected Internet Sites). This resource was originally "Social Issues Resources Series" (SIRS).
Researchers understand today's crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics. In-depth investigations of today's top issues.
Ready-references on history, computer & medical dictionaries, etc. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.
A collection of handbooks areas across many different subject areas. The Handbook series contains in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field, and brings together the leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking on a range of major topics. Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve.
Includes several hundred reference books in a variety of subject areas. Not all reference books are available to NICC users. Use the "by availability" to see those books available to NICC. Or click here to browse available collection.
This book series offers concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas.
