NICC Library: Composition & Literature: eBooks

Selected Digital Library Content

American Poetry: A Very Short Introduction / by David Caplan.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780190640194
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2022. 133 p.
Children's Literature: A Very Short Introduction / by Kimberley Reynolds.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199560240
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2011. xvi, 144 p.
English Literature: A Very Short Introduction / by Jonathan Bate.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199569267
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2010. xii, 179 p.
Horror: A Very Short Introduction / by Darryl Jones.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198755562
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2021, c2018. xx, 143 p.
Poetry: A Very Short Introduction / by Bernard O'Donoghue.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199229116
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2019. xvi, 144 p.
The Short Story: A Very Short Introduction / by Andrew Kahn.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198754633
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2021. xxvi, 141 p.

Academic Writing
How do I improve my essay writing skills? Where can I learn quickly how to improve my speech writing? How does writing for the web differ from conventional writing? Are there some categories of mistakes that people commonly make in attempting to write good prose? How can I be persuasive in my writing style? How did language evolve? What is ‘genre theory'? How do I become creative in my prose writing? These and other curious and relevant questions are answered in Academic Writing. Writing is about communication with words, and academic writing is about choosing words carefully to communicate complex ideas. The purpose of the fourteen chapters of this monograph is to provide an introduction to the practice of academic writing with an emphasis on prose writing in particular, for both print-based and online media. Each of the fourteen chapters explores different aspects of academic writing from practical, professional and theoretical perspectives. The book is written for students, teachers and educators at tertiary organizations. Word connoisseurs, debaters, writers and readers may also enjoy its argumentations and analyses.

Rhetoric: A Very Short Introduction / by Richard Toye.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199651368
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2013. 122 p.
Rhetoric is often seen as a synonym for shallow, deceptive language, and therefore as something negative. But if it is viewed in more neutral terms, as the "art of persuasion", it is clear that we are all forced to engage with it at some level, if only because we are constantly exposed to the rhetoric of others. This introduction explores the purpose of rhetoric and shows that it is the foundation-stone of civil society, and an essential part of democracy. Wide-ranging examples from Ancient Greece, medieval Islamic preaching, and modern cinema, are used to consider why we should all have an appreciation of the art of rhetoric. (publ.)

The Word on College Reading and Writing
Written by five college reading and writing instructors, this interactive, multimedia text draws from decades of experience teaching students who are entering the college reading and writing environment for the very first time. It includes examples, exercises, and definitions for just about every reading- and writing-related topic students will encounter in their college courses.
Writing for Success
Writing for Success is a text that provides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition. Beginning with the sentence and its essential elements, this book addresses each concept with clear, concise and effective examples that are immediately reinforced with exercises and opportunities to demonstrate, and reinforce, learning. Each chapter allows your students to demonstrate mastery of the principles of quality writing. With its incremental approach, it can address a range of writing levels and abilities, helping each student in your course prepare for their next writing or university course.
Explore COMPOSITION at Credo Reference!
Different topics relating to Composition & Writing.

Jane Austen: A Very Short Introduction / by Thomas Keymer.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198725954
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2022. 140 p.
Elizabeth Bishop: A Very Short Introduction / by Jonathan F. S. Post.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198851417
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2022. xxiii, 146 p.
Jorge Luis Borges (The Oxford Handbook of ...) / by Daniel Balderston & Nora C. Benedict (eds.).
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780197535271
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2023. (in press)
Charles Brockden Brown (The Oxford Handbook of ...)
ISBN: 9780199860067
Albert Camus: A Very Short Introduction / by Oliver Gloag.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198792970
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2020. xxii, 128 p.
Cervantes (The Oxford Handbook of ...) / by Aaron M. Kahn (ed.).
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198742913
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2021. xxxvi, 694 p.
Geoffrey Chaucer: A Very Short Introduction / by David Wallace.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198767718
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2019, c2017. 143 p
Chaucer (The Oxford Handbook of ...) / by Suzanne Akbari & James Simpson (eds.).
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199582655
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2020. xxi, 654 p.
Dante: A Very Short Introduction / by Peter Hainsworth & David Robey.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199684779
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2015. 127 p.
Dante (The Oxford Handbook of ...) / by Manuele Gragnolati, Elena Lombardi, & Francesca Southerden (eds.).
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198820741
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2021. xxxv, 741 p.
Charles Dickens: A Very Short Introduction / by Jenny Hartley.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198714996
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2019, c2016. xviii, 130 p.
Emily Dickinson (The Oxford Handbook of ...) /) by Karen Sánchez-Eppler & Cristanne Miller (eds.).
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198833932
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2022. xxiv, 631 p.
Gabriel García Márquez (The Oxford Handbook of ...) / by Gene H. Bell-Villada & Ignacio López-Calvo (eds.).
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780190067168
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2022. xxiii, 633 p.
Goethe: A Very Short Introduction / by Ritchie Robertson.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199689255
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2016. xv, 142 p.

Nathaniel Hawthorne
Oxford Reference Database

Homer: A Very Short Introduction / by Barbara Graziosi.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199589944
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2019, c2016. xviii, 122 p.
Henry James: A Very Short Introduction / by Susan Laura Mizruchi.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780190944384
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2021. 134 p.
James Joyce: A Very Short Introduction / by Colin MacCabe.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780192894472
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2021. xxii, 121 p.
Samuel Johnson (The Oxford Handbook of ...) / by John T. ("Jack") Lynch (ed.).
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198794660
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2022. xvii, 682 p.
Kafka: A Very Short Introduction / by Ritchie Robertson.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780192804556
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2004. 136 p.
C. S. Lewis: A Very Short Introduction / by James T. Como.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198828242
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2019. xxii, 134 p.

Herman Melville
Credo Reference Database

The Marquis de Sade: A Very Short Introduction / by John Phillips.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780192804693
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2005. xiii, 141 p.
William Shakespeare: A Very Short Introduction / by Stanley Wells
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198718628
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2015. xv, 125 p.
George Bernard Shaw: A Very Short Introduction / by Christopher Wixson.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198850090
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2020. xvi, 139 p.
Mary Shelley: A Very Short Introduction / by Charlotte Gordon.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198869191
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2022. 138 p.
Leo Tolstoy: A Very Short Introduction / by Liza Knapp.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198813934
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2019. xix, 146 p.
Voltaire: A Very Short Introduction / by Nicholas Cronk
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199688357
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2017. xviii, 151 p.
Virginia Woolf (The Oxford Handbook of ...) / by Anne E. Fernald (ed.).
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198811589
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2021. xx, 661 p.
Émile Zola: A Very Short Introduction / by Brian Nelson
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198837565
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2020. 140 p.

The Beats: A Very Short Introduction / by David Sterritt.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199796779
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2013. 126 p.
Bestsellers: A Very Short Introduction / by John Sutherland.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199214891
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2007. 127 p.
Byzantine Literature (The Oxford Handbook of ...) / by Stratis Papaioannou (ed.).
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199351763
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2021. xiv, 763 p.
Children's Literature: A Very Short Introduction / by Kimberley Reynolds.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199560240
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2011. xvi, 144 p.
Chinese Literature: A Very Short Introduction / by Sabina Knight.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780195392067
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2012. xx, 137 p.
Classical Literature: A Very Short Introduction / by William Allan.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199665457
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2014. 135 p.
The Classical Tradition in Modern American Fiction / by Tessa Roynon.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9781474434041
Publication Date: Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Pr., 2021. x, 285 p
The Classics: A Very Short Introduction / by Mary Beard & John Henderson.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780192853851
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2000, c1995. xiii, 145 p.
Colonial Latin American Literature: A Very Short Introduction / by Rolena Adorno.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199755028
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2011. 148 p.
Comparative Literature: A Very Short Introduction / by Ben Hutchinson.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198807278
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2018. xvi, 139 p.
Contemporary Fiction: A Very Short Introduction / by Robert Eaglestone.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199609260
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2013. 114 p.
Crime Fiction: A Very Short Introduction / by Richard Bradford.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199658787
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2015. 134 p.
Early Modern Women's Writing in English, 1540-1700 (The Oxford Handbook of ...) / by Elizabeth Scott-Bauman, Danielle Clarke, & Sarah C.E. Ross (eds.).
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198860631
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2022. xxxvi, 849 p.
Eighteenth-Century Satire (The Oxford Handbook of ...) / by Paddy Bullard (ed.).
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198727835
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2019. xxiii, 719 p.
English Literature: A Very Short Introduction / by Jonathan Bate.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199569267
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2010. xii, 179 p.
Fairy Tale: A Very Short Introduction / by Marina Warmer.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199532155
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2018, c2014. xxix, 156 p.
French Literature: A Very Short Introduction / by John D. Lyons.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199568727
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2010. xii, 137 p.
German Literature: A Very Short Introduction / by Nicholas Boyle.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199206599
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2008. 171 p.
The Harlem Renaissance: A Very Short Introduction / by Cheryl A. Wall
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199335558
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2016. 135 p.
Horror: A Very Short Introduction / by Darryl Jones.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198755562
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2021, c2018. xx, 143 p.
Italian Literature: A Very Short Introduction / by Peter Hainsworth & David Robey.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199231799
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2012. xiv, 128 p.
Jewish Literature: A Very Short Introduction / by Ilan Stavans.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780190076979
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2021. xxii, 150 p.
Latin American Novel (The Oxford Handbook of ...) / by Juan E. de Castro & Ignacio López-Calvo (eds.).
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780197541852
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2023. xx, 868 p.
Medieval Literature: A Very Short Introduction / by Elaine Treharne.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199668496
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2015. 141 p.
Modern Drama: A Very Short Introduction / by Kirsten E. Shepherd-Barr.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199658770
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2016. 136 p.
Modern Indian Literatures (The Oxford Handbook of ...) / by Ulka Anjaria & Anjali Nerlekar (eds.).
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780197647912
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2023. (in press)
Modern Irish Fiction (The Oxford Handbook of ...) / by Liam Harte (ed.).
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198754893
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2020. xviii, 677 p.
Modern Latin American Literature: A Very Short Introduction / by Roberto González Echevarría.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199365838
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2012. xvi, 132 p.
Native American Literature: A Very Short Introduction / by Sean Kicummah Teuton.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199944521
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2018. xx, 152 p.
Russian Literature: A Very Short Introduction / by Catriona H. M. Kelly.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780192801449
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2001. 164 p.
Science Fiction: A Very Short Introduction / by David Seed.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199557455
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2011. xii, 147 p.
The Short Story: A Very Short Introduction / by Andrew Kahn.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198754633
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2021. xxvi, 141 p.
Spanish Literature: A Very Short Introduction / by Jo Labanyi.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199208050
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2010. xiv, 139 p.
Twentieth-Century American Literature (The Oxford Handbook of ...) /) by Leslie Bow & Russ Castronovo (eds.).
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198824039
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2022. xiv, 432 p.

American Poetry: A Very Short Introduction / by David Caplan.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780190640194
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2022. 133 p.
Poetry: A Very Short Introduction / by Bernard O'Donoghue.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199229116
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2019. xvi, 144 p.

British Cinema: A Very Short Introduction / by Charles Barr
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199688333
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2022. xviii, 147 p.
Children's Film (The Oxford Handbook of ...) / by Noel Brown (ed.).
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780190939359
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2022. xxi, 873 p.
Documentary Film: A Very Short Introduction / by Patricia Aufderheide.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780195182705
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2007. xi, 158 p.
Film: A Very Short Introduction / by Michael Wood.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780192803535
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2012. xiv, 138 p.
Film Noir: A Very Short Introduction / by James Naremore.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198791744
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2019. xvii, 124 p.
Film Theory (The Oxford Handbook of ...) / by Kyle Stevens (ed.).
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780190873929
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2022. xii, 695 p.
The History of Cinema: A Very Short Introduction / by Geoffrey Nowell-Smith.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198701774
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2017. 119 p.
Indian Cinema: A Very Short Introduction / by Ashish Rajadhyaksha.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198723097
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2016. xxii, 136 p.
Musical Theatre Screen Adaptations (The Oxford Handbook of ...) / by Dominic McHugh (ed.).
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780190469993
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2019. xiv, 673 p.
New Science Fiction Cinemas (The Oxford Handbook of ...) / by J. P. Telotte (ed.).
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780197557723
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2023. xviii, 338 p.
Queer Cinema (The Oxford Handbook of ...) / by Ronald Gregg & Amy Villarejo (eds.).
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780190877996
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2021. xv, 844 p.
Silent Film: A Very Short Introduction / by Donna Kornhaber
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780190852528
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2020. xx, 143 p.

Classical Mythology: A Very Short Introduction / by Helen Morales.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780192804761
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2007. 144 p.
Egyptian Myth: A Very Short Introduction / by Geraldine Pinch.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780192803467
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2004. 143 p.
Greek and Roman Mythography (The Oxford Handbook of ...) / by R. Scott Smith & Stephen M. Trzaskoma (eds.).
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780190648336
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2022. xviii, 602 p.
Myth: A Very Short Introduction (2nd ed.) / by Robert A. Segal.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198724704
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2015. 142 p.
Slavic and East European Folklore (OxfordHandbook of ...) / by Margaret H. Beissinger (ed.).
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780190080778
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2023. (in press)
World Mythology: A Very Short Introduction / by David Adams Leeming.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780197548264
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2022. xx, 138

Shakespeare's Comedies: A Very Short Introduction / by Bart van Es.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198723356
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2016. 122 p.
Shakespeare's Sonnets and Poems: A Very Short Introduction / by Jonathan F.S. Post.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198717577
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2017. 140 p
Shakespeare's Tragedies: A Very Short Introduction / by Stanley Wells.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198785293
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2017. xii, 138 p.

American Literary Realism (The Oxford Handbook of ...) / by Keith Newlin (ed.).
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780190642891
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2019. xiv, 718 p.
Ancient Biography (The Oxford Handbook of ...) / by Koen De Temmerman (ed.).
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198703013
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2020. xxvi, 766 p.
Autobiography: A Very Short Introduction / by Laura Marcus.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199669240
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2018. 145 p.
Biography: A Very Short Introduction / by Hermione Lee.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199533541
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2009. xiii, 177 p.
Comedy: A Very Short Introduction / by Matthew Bevis.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199601714
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2013. xvi, 150 p.
Dictionaries: A Very Short Introduction / by Lynda Mugglestone.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199573790
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2011. xvi, 140 p.
English Grammar (The Oxford Handbook of ...) / by Bas Aarts, Jill Bowie, & Gergana Popova (eds.).
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198755104
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2020. xxvi, 824 p.
The English Language: A Very Short Introduction / by Simon Horobin.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198709251
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2018, c2016. xix, 149 p.
The Hebrew Bible as Literature: A Very Short Introduction / by Tod Linafelt.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780195300079
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2016. 116 p.
Journalism: A Very Short Introduction (2nd ed.) / by Ian Hargreaves.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199686872
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2014. xviii, 153 p.
Literary Theory: A Very Short Introduction (2nd ed.) / by Jonathan D. Culler.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199691340
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2011. xiv, 165 p.
Reading: A Very Short Introduction / by Belinda Elizabeth Jack.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198820581
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2019. 136 p.
Slang: A Very Short Introduction / by Jonathon Green.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198729532
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2016. 130 p.
Theatre: A Very Short Introduction / by Marvin Carlson.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199669820
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2014. 131 p.
Tragedy: A Very Short Introduction / by Adrian Poole.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780192802354
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2005. 147 p.
Translation: A Very Short Introduction / by Matthew Reynolds.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780198712114
Publication Date: Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2016. 140 p.
Translation and Social Practices (The Oxford Handbook of ...) / by Meng Ji & Sara Laviosa (eds.).
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780190067205
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2021. xv, 671 p.
Writing and Script: A Very Short Introduction / by Andrew Robinson.
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9780199567782
Publication Date: New York: Oxford UP, 2009. xii, 157 p.

DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books
A listing of academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access. It currently (2019) includes 15661 Academic peer-reviewed books and chapters from 307 publishers. The site may be browsed by subject (main link above) or searched using a basic search feature.
eBook Collections (Ebsco)
NICC makes available hundreds of 1000's of eBooks on many different topics. You may browse by category or select from among several search options. Academic & General ebooks may be search together using the link on this A-Z list, or separately using the links given above.
Internet Archive: Children's Library
A selection of several thousand online books for children from around the world. Collection may be searched or browsed, and contents may be sorted by a variety of filters/features.
National Academies Press
The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently researched information on important matters in science and health policy. The Press offers more than 8,500 titles in PDF format. Almost all of these PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book. You may search by keyword, or browse ebooks by subject.

ProQuest eBooks
Browse by subject or search.

Salem Press & Grey House
Collection of Salem Press eBook titles in the subject areas of history, science, health and careers.