NICC Library: Racism: Library Databases

Selected Library Databases

A complete list of NICC Library databases may be found HERE.

America's Historical Newspapers (1690-2000's) This link opens in a new window
News article topics in government, politics, social issues, culture, literature discoveries, inventions and more from hundreds of primary sources.
Civil Rights & Social Justice This link opens in a new window
The Civil Rights database brings together a diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans. Containing hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislations, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, this database allows users to educate themselves on the ways our civil rights have been strengthened and expanded over time, as well as how these legal protections can go further still. A curated list of scholarly articles, a varied collection of books on many civil rights topics, and a list of prominent civil rights organizations help take the research beyond HeinOnline.
Criminal Justice Collection This link opens in a new window
Criminal justice topics, including law, law enforcement, homeland security, forensic science and more.
Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Journals covering cultural interest including Harlem Renaissance, Hispanic heritage, Sigmund Freud, women's rights, workplace diversity and more.
Gender Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Periodical collection supporting significant aspects of gender in culture and society. Subjects covered include gender identity, masculinity, privacy, same sex marriage, women studies and more.

"Inequality" (Encyclopedia Britannica Database)
Articles and biographies relating to inequality.
"Injustice & Inequality" DOAB (Directory of Open Access Books)
Open Access online books on the subject of inequality & injustice

Slavery and Abolition, 1789-1887 This link opens in a new window
The Slavery and Abolition, 1789-1887 collection chronicles the African-American experience during the 19th century. While subjects run the gamut and include a fair amount of titles covering religion and literature (including the Pathfinder, Slave's Friend, Anglo-African Magazine, and Youth's Emancipator), the bulk are related to slavery and abolition, including titles such as the Freedmen's Record, Genius of Universal Emancipation, the Liberator, the Massachusetts Abolitionist, the Mirror of Liberty, and the National Crisis: An Antidote to Abolition Fanaticism, Treason and Sham Philanthropy.

Social Inequality (Credo Reference)
Subject page and research guide to this topic from the one of the NICC Library's reference databases.

U.S. History Collection This link opens in a new window
Periodicals supporting topics in U.S. History. Topics include American Revolution, Civil War, Native Americans, Supreme Court, World War II and more.
World History Collection This link opens in a new window
Periodicals supporting topics in world history such as; Ancient Rome, Middle Ages, Napoleon, Renaissance, World War II and more.