Racism

Presents various perspectives on African Indigenous Knowledge Systems(AIK) from a wide range of scholars. They publish brief extracts from scholarly works on the subject and focus on several areas. The site has been listed by the United Nations Educational,Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) as one of the top 50 of African websites.

Project of the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum. Timeline of events incorporating primary source documents for years 1939-1965, with primary focus on year 1963. Resources for educators (lesson plans, etc.) and students (chronologies & bibliographies) also available on site.

This organization's mission is to (1) provide demonstration models for schools and teacher education programs (drawing from existing research and literature on educating African American students); 2) conduct research on education of African American students; 3) advocate for African American children and their families; 4) impact and lead policy decisions which affect African American children; & 5) maintain a website with resources on effective education of African American students.

A diversity, equity and inclusion consulting firm for Schools, Businesses, and Community Organizations. The website makes freely available up-to-date reading & resource lists on topics such as Race & Gender (tba). Their publications page also has a selection of free video seminars on relevant topics.

Teaching Tolerance provides free resources to educators—teachers, administrators, counselors and other practitioners—who work with children from kindergarten through high school.

The Zinn Education Project promotes and supports the teaching of people’s history in classrooms across the country. The website offers free, downloadable lessons and articles organized by theme, time period, and grade level. Based on the approach to history highlighted in Howard Zinn’s best-selling book A People’s History of the United States, our teaching materials emphasize the role of working people, women, people of color, and organized social movements in shaping history.

Brings together content from a variety of reports created by this federal agency which document the disparities in healthcare among racial and ethnic minorities compared to white populations.

The Eviction Lab at Princeton University has built the first nationwide database of evictions. Find out how many evictions happen in your community. Create custom maps, charts, and reports. Share facts with your neighbors and elected officials.

With the United Nations proclaiming this Decade, the international community is recognizing that people of African descent represent a distinct group whose human rights must be promoted and protected. Around 200 million people identifying themselves as being of African descent live in the Americas. Many millions more live in other parts of the world, outside of the African continent. The website offers visitors many free resources, media, and links to view or download. It also includes a link to the UN's website on the slave trade.

The Annals of Iowa, vol. 53 (1994) pp. 305-328.
Description:"Iowa's Last Lynching: the Charles City Mob of 1907 and Iowa Progressivism," by Michael James Pfeifer.

Essay in collection, Race Consciousness: Reinterpretations for the New Century, ed. by Judith Jackson Fossett & Jeffrey A. Tucker (New York: NYU Pr., 1997. 292 p.) "With the opening of An Art Commentary on Lynching in 1935, art became, for the first time, an experimental vehicle for countering negative attitudes toward black men. An orchestrated effort of this caliber would not be seen again in New York City until 1994, when the Whitney Museum of American Art hosted Black Male: Representations of Masculinity in Contemporary" (introd.)

Based on multi-year investigation into terror lynchings of African Americans from 1877 and 1950 in twelve Southern states, documents hundreds more lynchings than historians previously recorded, describes how lynchings were terrorism, and calls for public acknowledgment of racial terror lynching and its legacy. A project of the Equal Justice Initiative. Also read accompanying New York Times article on report and related features.

Iowa Journal of History & Politics, vol. 10 (1912) pp. 151-254
Description: Article documents specific lynching incidents in Iowa during a period of very high prevalence historically.

Resolved, That the Senate--
(1) apologizes to the victims of lynching for the failure of the Senate to enact anti-lynching legislation;
(2) expresses the deepest sympathies and most solemn regrets of the Senate to the descendants of victims of lynching, the ancestors of whom were deprived of life, human dignity, and the constitutional protections accorded all citizens of the United States; and
(3) remembers the history of lynching, to ensure that these tragedies will be neither forgotten nor repeated.

Op/Ed piece appearing in the New York Times (27 April 2015, p. A19). Contrasts the casual use of this term with the graphic, horrible reality of what lynch mobs actually did to their victims, and how joyful they were about torture and murder.

A news magazine and online community that creates original journalism and "... amplifies the best of hundreds of other independent media sources." Since its inception in 1998, its aim is to inspire action and advocacy on the environment, human rights and civil liberties, social justice, media, health care issues, and more.

Website of publisher Cedric Muhammad, intended to provide "...a news and analysis daily that provides news coverage of issues and events that impact the Black electorate worldwide." This site includes a particularly large listing of categorized links to black organizations, news, and cultural sites.

Democracy Now! produces a daily, global, independent news hour hosted by journalists Amy Goodman and Juan González. Its reporting includes breaking daily news headlines and in-depth interviews with people on the front lines of the world’s most pressing issues. On Democracy Now!, you’ll hear a diversity of voices speaking for themselves, providing a unique and sometimes provocative perspective on global events.
Democracy Now! is a 501(c)3 non-profit news organization, and does not accept funding from advertising, underwriting or government agencies. Visitors may wish to explore the "Topics" page to view reporting and other content, or watch entire show episodes.

From 1970-1997 this publication (and later website) was The Black Collegian, a career and news resource. It now has a broader focus on career and cultural needs of all underrepresented minority groups in education and the workplace. Visitors may wish to begin exploring this resource via its Diversity Villages page, containing links to various ethnic content categories.

A research collaborative collecting comprehensive data on police killings nationwide to quantify the impact of police violence in communities.

On a typical day in the United States, police officers make more than 50,000 traffic stops. This project is gathering, analyzing, and releasing records from millions of traffic stops by law enforcement agencies across the country. The goal is to help researchers, journalists, and policymakers investigate and improve interactions between police and the public.

Volume 10, Issue 2 (June 2024) of the journal, RSF: The Russell Sage Foundation Journal of the Social Sciences. Includes 5 articles and an introduction on the subject of reparations to African American descendents of slavery and Jim Crow persecution.

Volume 10, Issue 3 (June 2024) of the journal, RSF: The Russell Sage Foundation Journal of the Social Sciences. Includes 7 articles and an introduction on this topic.

The 1619 Project is an ongoing initiative from The New York Times Magazine that began in August 2019, the 400th anniversary of the beginning of American slavery. It aims to reframe the country’s history by placing the consequences of slavery and the contributions of black Americans at the very center of our national narrative. In addition to the original NYT Magazine release, there is now an interactive website with more stories and ongoing updates to this project.

This database compiles information about more than 36,000 voyages that forcibly transported enslaved Africans across the Atlantic between 1514 and 1866. Search and analyze the database for information on the broad origins of enslaved people, the tortuous Middle Passage, and the destinations of Africans in the Americas. The 4 components of the Slave Voyages database are: (1) Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database; (2) Intra-American Slave Trade Database; (3) People of the African Slave Trade Database; & (4) Image Galleries of People, Places, Documents & Vessels. Site users may also wish to read some of the essays published for each database section, such as those for the Atlantic Slave Trade Database section. You may also view a sobering "time lapse" graphic showing the movement for over 31,000 slave ships from Africa to ports mostly in North, Central, & South America during 17th-19th centuries.