Composition & Literature

African American Women Writers of the 19th Century guide includes a digital collection of published works by 19th-century black women writers, biographies for each author, citations and much more

This site offers access to biographical information, artifacts, news, video recording, images and documents related to African poetry from antiquity to the present. It currently offers 2 sections: Contemporary African Poets, and a section covering African Poetry from 1865-1985.

Read and explore all of Shakespeare's plays by clicking on your choice. Each link brings you to a free copy of the text, essays and related content, material for teachers, and much more.

A collection of Open Education Resources (OERs) on a variety of literature and language topics.

Read a current and growing collection of Herman Melville's works. While the "editions" tab brings you to actual texts and introductory essays, you are invited to explore fascinating archival content and other special Melville-related projects elsewhere on the site.

This full-text project is primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more. The site currently provides access to about 200 works and may be browsed by author, title, genre, & a timeline.

The Archive provides full-text access to all of Whitman's published works, manuscript images & transcripts, biography, commentary and criticism, and other audio & visual material. All content is freely available on the site.

Read the novels of celebrated early 20th-Century novelist Willa Cather, as well as an extensive full-text collection of criticism, biographical sketches, and the text of her many other published works of shorter fiction, journalism, non-fiction, speeches, etc.

The diaries in this digital collection were written by British and American women who documented their travels to places around the globe, including India, the West Indies, countries in Europe, Africa, and the Middle East, as well as around the United States. There are over 100 diaries of varying length.