NICC Library: Botany: First Steps

Tools & Tips

What if I don't know precisely which topic I'm interested in researching? Use some of the tools below to browse broad subject categories or specific research topics.

As you look for an interesting topic think about the approach you will take in your research. Will you analyze, explain, narrate, or persuade? Will you be humorous or serious? What's the class perspective, is it philosophical, historical, sociological, psychological, or scientific?

After you have determined a topic you will need to gain an overview of that topic by reading background materials. As you begin to acquire knowledge about your subject you may need to adjust your topic, but try to always have a clear idea of your goal or you can waste time and energy.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed and general interest full-text articles for academic libraries. Subjects include physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many others. You may also wish to browse by discipline.
America's News This link opens in a new window
Explore news articles from 1978-Present. Includes printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Associates Programs Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Articles and E-books on topics taught in community colleges, including accounting, agriculture, child care, cosmetology, cooking, food service, forestry, graphic arts, hospitality management, interior design, veterinary science, plumbing, heating & air conditioning, welding.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Researchers understand today's crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics. In-depth investigations of today's top issues.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to differing points of view on current social issues in primary source documents, articles, statistics, websites and multimedia.
Sirs Government Reporter, Renaissance & Researcher This link opens in a new window
General reference database that contains thousands of full-text articles. Includes special modules: Issues Researcher (Leading Issues), Government Reporter (Information By & About the U.S. Government), Renaissance (Arts & Humanities), & WebSelect (Selected Internet Sites). This resource was originally "Social Issues Resources Series" (SIRS).
https://explore.proquest.com/sirsissuesresearcher?accountid=45561
World News Digest This link opens in a new window
Covers all major political, social, and economic news since November 1940. Users may browse topical news categories, or use the advanced search feature for more options.

Encyclopedias

After you think you have selected a topic the next step is background reading to gain an overview of the topic and determine if it will work for your research assignment. General and subject encyclopedias are an excellent resource for people, dates, events and concepts on your topic. There are not digital subject encyclopedias available for every subject, but here are the links for some from the NICC library collection:

Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
General knowledge English-language encyclopaedia.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research:
BROWSE ALL TITLES or click below for individual resources.

Asian American History and Culture: An Encyclopedia
Business Plans Handbook, Vol. 1--Vol. 30
Alternative Energy, 2nd ed., 3v
Americans at War, 4v --
Career Information Center, 10th ed., 16v
Climate Change, 2v
Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology, 4th ed., 4v
Encyclopedia of Emerging Markets
Environmental Encyclopedia, 4th ed., 2v
Gale E-Commerce Sourcebook, 2v
Gale Encyclopedia of E-Commerce, 2v
A Student Guide to Climate and Weather, 5v

You can use the library's "Multisearch" tab to find "research starters" on your topic. These offer general overviews of popular subjects you may have chosen to research. Just type in your search terms.

For examples see below:

Further thinking on your topic:

Review the assignment
What types of resources are you required to use (books, articles, audio-visual, websites, etc.)?
Were you told to limit your research to specific ranges of dates?
Have you found lots and lots of material on your topic, perhaps indicating it is very broad?
Have you found little information on your topic, perhaps indicating it is too specific and narrow?
Can you reframe your thesis (research question) to better use NICC's existing resources?

Some of these pages may help you think through the research process.

Presenting Your Research: Writing a Research Paper
Presenting Your Research: Writing and Delivering a Speech
When You Need a Research Topic
How to Judge Information (2 p.)
Work sheet for this topic.
How to Choose a Topic
Worksheet for this topic.
Big Data, Little Data, No Data : Scholarship in the Networked World
An examination of the uses of data within a changing knowledge infrastructure, offering analysis and case studies from the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Gentle Guide To Research Methods
Authors are experienced researchers with previously published research methods/study skills books. This book provides a systematic overview of research methods, including research design, data collection methods, statistics, and academic writing. It includes a systematic coverage of data collection methods - from interviews to indirect observation to card sorts.