Google Scholar is a search engine that searches academic and scholarly literature. It is NOT searching the public web.
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. Users may also browse by journal subject and view either journal titles or individual articles.
Database with thousands of books in a digital format (Ebooks) on many subjects. Find relevant ebooks and chapters; read online; search within the ebook; and highlight, take notes and bookmark pages in your online copy, stored on your bookshelf for you. You can also share your research with others, download ebooks and chapters to your laptop or mobile device, and more. Have questions about ebooks? View these "how-to" videos.
A collection of handbooks areas across many different subject areas. The Handbook series contains in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field, and brings together the leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking on a range of major topics. Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve.
Includes several hundred reference books in a variety of subject areas. Not all reference books are available to NICC users. Use the "by availability" to see those books available to NICC. Or click here to browse available collection.
Collection of Salem Press eBook titles in the subject areas of history, science, health and careers.
Almost 2,000 electronic editions of academic books have been published online at the UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004, web site. All E-Books in the collection are available for free to UC faculty, staff, and students. Currently approximately 1/2 of this collection is also available to the general public. When viewing a category, be certain to select "public access books" to view only those titles available to all users.
This book series offers concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas.
Started in August 1991, arXiv.org is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. Covered areas include physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics. arXiv is maintained and operated by the Cornell University Library. Users can retrieve papers from arXiv via the web interface. Use the default "browse" display, or also search using various limits and criteria.
