Research

Determine if there is a specific journal or category of journals about your topic you may wish to browse. These are entire journals, not specific articles.

DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Full-text articles and most recent job postings (requires login and password)

Started in August 1991, arXiv.org is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. Covered areas include physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics. arXiv is maintained and operated by the Cornell University Library. Users can retrieve papers from arXiv via the web interface.

The Center was founded in 1977 as the nation’s first nonprofit investigative journalism organization. Reveal–its website, public radio program, podcast and social media platform–is where they publish their multiplatform work. Content currently is included via searchable keyword or in three broad categories:

The Groundtruth Project is an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit news organization, whose mission is to restore journalism from the ground up by supporting the next generation of journalists through field reporting that serves under-covered corners of the United States and the world. Site visitors may:

Founded in 2007, InsideClimate News (ICN) is an independent, not-for-profit, non-partisan news organization that covers clean energy, carbon energy, nuclear energy and environmental science–plus the territory in between where law, policy and public opinion are shaped. It is staffed by professional journalists, many of whom bring decades of experience from leading media organizations in the nation, including the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, ProPublica, Los Angeles Times, Bloomberg News and Frontline. First-time visitors may wish to explore ICN's website by topic, watch videos, or follow any of several ongoing investigations via the menu button in the top right corner of the webpage.

The Marshall Project is a nonpartisan, nonprofit news organization that seeks to create and sustain a sense of national urgency about the U.S. criminal justice system. Visitors may search for tagged content, or browse by browse topically on their subject pages, "The Record" (popular criminal justice topics). The Marshall Project is named in honor of Supreme Court Justice Thurgood Marshall (1908-1993), who was the first African American justice to serve on the court from 1967-1991, and a towering figure in the civil rights movement. To check out the record, click the link below:

ProPublica is an independent, nonprofit newsroom that produces investigative journalism. With a team of more than 100 dedicated journalists, ProPublica covers a range of topics including government and politics, business, criminal justice, the environment, education, health care, immigration, and technology. Investigative journalism requires a great deal of time and resources, and many newsrooms can no longer afford to take on this kind of deep-dive reporting. As a nonprofit, ProPublica’s work is powered primarily through donations.

Topics include the periodic table, molecules and compounds, reactions, and chemical processes. Users can zoom, rotate, and explore interactive 3-D models. Filter by category, search by keyword, or Browse Activities.

Allows you to examine virtual 3D dissections with tools to zoom, rotate, and explore models, and assess understanding of concepts with self-assessments within each module. Search by keyword, explore by system or region, or browse all available system and region categories.

Free online database replacing the standard medical reference source. First published in 1899, the Manual includes information about medical diagnoses, drug pharmacology, and related health content. The website also provides:

The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy. The Press offers more than 8,500 titles in PDF format. Almost all of these PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book.

A collection of handbooks areas across many different subject areas. The Handbook series contains in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field, and brings together the leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking on a range of major topics. Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve.

The library is an integral part of a project being developed by the Latin American and Caribbean Center on Health Sciences Information. The objective of the site is to implement an electronic virtual library, providing full access to a collection of serial titles. Access to its serials collection is via an alphabetic list of titles or a subject list or a search form by word of serial titles, publisher names, city of publication and subject. The project was developed, supported and is sustained by a number of Brazilian organizations, including the São Paulo Research Foundation.

Science is a leading general science academic journal in the field, publishing original peer-reviewed research articles all fields of scientific inquiry. The database provides digital access to all Science Magazine content from 1997 to the current issue, including prepublication content. You may also browse issues by year. More date ranges may appear than NICC has online access to. Use Advanced Search if you wish to limit your search to only those full-text years subscribed. Note you must also select the specific source publication as well in advanced search.

This database provides you with a comprehensive view of Biology, Chemistry, Earth Science, and Human Anatomy. It uses interactive 3-D models that can be zoomed in, rotated, or pulled apart. Browse by subject, refine by category, or search by keyword. There are also self-assessments in each subject-specific module.

Swank Digital Campus provides movie and TV content for the NICC community. The platform displays subscribed titles chosen for one-year license by faculty, staff, and librarians, to support classroom and instruction use. Access to all content is available on and off campus.

This book series offers concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas.

The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners, and researchers.

OpenStax is part of Rice University, which is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit charitable corporation. Our mission is to improve educational access and learning for everyone. We do this by publishing openly licensed books, developing and improving research-based courseware, establishing partnerships with educational resource companies, and more.

The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is a discovery service for open-access books. DOAB provides a searchable index to peer-reviewed monographs and edited collections published under an open-access license, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher’s website or repository.

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.